The Saga of Peer Pressure, Part Deux

FullSizeRender-2_Fotor

Just for funsies, here’s a list of things I have purchased in a peer pressure, OCD induced stupor.

(For further explanation, please refer to this post)

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Moonstone

Ma, She Made Me!: Rachhloves

She said it was good for pale girls, and oh, her glow was so intoxicatingly lovely. But on me? Just pointed out that I break out on my cheeks and pregnancy was not kind to my new wrinkles. Also, I can’t help but think that glitter on the cheeks is a little childish. I’m all for a dewy finish in foundation, but leave the sparkles at Party Fair.

Too Faced Hangover Primer

Ma, She Made Me!: ViviannaDoesMakeup

She featured it in about thirty thousand videos, saying that it was smoothing, plumping, and moisturizing. I bought it, and immediately fell in love with its cooling effects and its coconutty goodness. Then I realized it smelled like sun tan lotion and absorbed just as uselessly. Did nothing to hold my foundation onto my face or smooth out my dry patches to solve flake cling.

Sunday Riley Luna Sleeping Night Oil

Ma, She Made Me!: HeyClaire

I can’t believe I did this one. I even did loads of research to support the fact that I was about to spend $100 on a single ounce of smurf extract. I honestly only tried it for two nights, and the only reaction I could see was, “Eh, I guess it’s smoother, kinda?” For $100, I want more than a squint and a “Yes, honey” from the husband. (Not that I do any of this for his benefit, he’d still love me if I wore pizza grease on my face and wore a burlap sack.) Full review to come.

Urban Decay Naked2 Palette

Ma, She Made Me!: … Who hasn’t? AllanaRamaa

I will admit, even as I purchased this, I said to myself, “Jenny, you already own both Lorac palettes. What good is a Naked?” My answer: “You’re supposed to. So there.” I do, honestly, like the colors, and don’t think it’s too terribly dupable with what I own. I haven’t played with it enough to decide if the formula is as good as everyone says, but I do know the brush is crap – way too stiff, I end up dragging and skipping along my lid and stabbing myself in the eye. But good on them for including a full brush instead of a foam applicator (coughMARCJACOBScough).

Body Shop Honey Bronzer

Ma, She Made Me!: Essiebutton, Rachhloves (will you be my friend NOW?)

This one worked out, because I adore it. I got it in Medium so I could pass it off as a semi-contour-fake-out (and because for some reason Medium was $5 cheaper than the others on Amazon). But Body Shop, why doesn’t it smell like honey???

Everything Charlotte Tilbury

Ma, She Made Me!: Every YouTuber in existence, including that guy who reviews video games and screams at the camera

This started with just the Sculpt and Glow, because, come on, that thing is sexy as hell. I got it, and couldn’t bear to put it in my make up bag. I literally walked around the apartment with it for the rest of the day, stroking it and calling it “Precious.” This delicious, delicious gateway drug turned into ordering a bottle of Light Wonder Foundation and an eyeshadow palette (Vintage Vamp, if you’re curious. I’m a sucker for a burgundy eye.) I was heartbroken when these items were so, so, so disappointing. The foundation clung to my dry patches like a bad relationship, and the eyeshadows were chalky and tiny and not NEARLY worth the price. I will be searching Mac for dupes.

Benefit Cosmetics Roller Lash

Ma, She Made Me!: Rachhloves (WHY WON’T YOU LOVE ME!!!!)

I’m on the fence about this product. It’s temperamental. The brush is genius. It’s a rubber/plastic brush with curved bristles that really grab your lashes – I had always heard that mascaras were supposed to do this, but had never encountered one that delivered. However, it does tend to get a little spidery, and Holy Fallout, Batman. I know I have dark under eye circles, but whoa!.

And now, a list of items that have made it into my shopping cart, sometimes on multiple occasions, but have not made it home. Will power is a learned skill, ok?

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette – Say it with me: “I own enough brown eyeshadow.” Dat Burgundy, doe.

More Naked Palettes – They’re just. So. PRETTY.

Too Faced Born This Way – My dry patches are the only thing stopping me from owning this. Really more suited for oily skin. Or I’m full of crap and my skin just doesn’t like it.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Copper – I’m so pale. But it’s. SO. PRETTY.

Sigma Brushes – Everyone talks about them, but I’m starting to think that’s a sponsorship thing, and not a quality thing…

I’m sure this list will continue to grow. Because I am weak. And the peer pressure is strong.

Leave a Reply

