Becca Ombre Rouge Palette

Why is no one talking about this palette?

Becca Main

It’s gorgeous. Absolutely, positively, undeniably gorgeous.

Becca Closed

I originally ordered it from the Sephora website because it wasn’t in either of my local stores, and I was curious how “red” it got. (I’m a burgundy eyeshadow addict. It’s a problem. I’m working on it. And by working on it, I mean buying every Makeup Geek and Mac shadow in the color family.)

Anyhow, I got it home, and it looked fine in the pan. A mauvey pink here, a red-toned brown there. I swatched them on my arm, compared the shades to others in my collection, and it landed in the “To-Be-Returned” bag. I had both Lorac palettes, why did I need another neutral palette for?

Dear, lovely Becca Ombre Rouge, I was so wrong. Please forgive me for my mistake.

I’m not sure what drove me to it, maybe it was that absolutely no one on the internet was talking about this thing (seriously, why is no one talking about this?), but one morning I pulled it from the returns bag and slapped it on my eyes.

I’m not even sure how to describe what this does to my eyes. These aren’t traditional neutral shades, they’re ALIVE. They’re multidimensional and interesting and lively and soft. Below is my go to look. (1 all over, 2 on lid, 3 and 5 in crease)

Rouge Eye

Ombre Rouge just seems alive, radiantly natural. It leans pink and red enough to look like my eyes are naturally that contoured. Other neutrals in my collection are just… browns. They even appear grey in comparison. Perhaps it’s my skin tone, perhaps it my green eyes, but this palette is practically making love to my face. Like a muscular Italian romance novel hero. Without a shirt. On a horse. Ok, getting carried away.

Becca Swatches

Based on the swatches above, you’d think these shadows are powdery, but they’re not. They swatch oddly, but apply and blend like a dream. I think the very fine, almost sheer (but buildable) texture makes the shades appear more natural; you’re not WEARING orange shadow, your crease is just naturally orange. Also, yes, there are five shades in this picture. The first shade is almost identical to my skin tone, so I use it to set eyeshadow primer, or even my undereye concealer when I’m being lazy.

And just on a side note – These eyeshadows blend so, so, so easily that it’s like they do the work for you. I can whip the above together in about 3 minutes, with 2 minutes and 45 seconds dedicated to the dreaded winged liner.

Is it ridiculous to buy a backup of this palette? Because that’s how much I’m in love with it.

8 thoughts on “Becca Ombre Rouge Palette

    1. Definitely Make Up Geek Bitten and Burlesque. Skip Mac Burgundy x9- the shades are closer to plum than wine, and the quality wasn’t there. Jury is also out on Charlotte Tilbury Vintage Vamp. It’s pretty, but not sure it lives up to the price tag.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

