Chronicles of a Packaging Whore

Hi, my name is Jenny, and I’m a packaging whore.

As my makeup collection grew and multiplied and had grandchildren, I started to become bored with what cosmetics were offered. I mean, I already have a liquid eyeliner that stays in place for 12 hours, do I really need another one just to have the fun of buying it? It was taking more and more to impress me enough to spend money.

Then along came Miss Charlotte Tilbury, and I was doomed. The rose gold packaging. The vintage, art deco inspiration. The luxury. The glamour.

I knew my new true love would be beautifully packaged makeup. Why buy thirty drug store single shadows when you could have one luxurious palette that makes you feel like a movie star just for having it on your nightstand?

Here are some of my current weaknesses.

Charlotte Tilbury (Everything)

Charlotte Tilbury

The gateway drug. The Bronze and Glow palette is everything. Beautifully packaged so you feel like a 1920s movie star each time you open it. Sturdy feeling, high quality and effective product. When I bought it, I literally walked around the apartment with it in my hand. I couldn’t bear to put it away in my makeup bag. Soon after, I caved and bought the Vintage Vamp eyeshadow palette (darn you burgundy eyeshadows, taking all my money…) and the Light Wonder foundation. But my true heart will always belong to the Bronze and Glow.

Clarins Garden Palette

Clarins Opened

Here’s the funny thing about this palette. I don’t wear green eyeshadow. I have green eyes, I’m not supposed to. At least, didn’t before I got this. But it comes in a velvet sack, for goodness sake. Now that just isn’t fair. It’s gold, and sturdy, and that print on the shadows! I resisted for nearly the entire summer. I tried. But boy, am I glad this is mine.

Tarte Showstopper PaletteShowstopper

It’s purple and gold, guys. Purple and gold. I don’t have a long explanation for this one. It’s just purple. And gold. Yes, it’s a little less sophisticated than the rest of this list, but don’t we all have a bit of gawdy in us?

Marc Jacobs Lolita Palette

Lolita

So seductively sleek! Black and fashionable and another one of those possessions I cuddled for a few hours before putting away.

Albeit Lipsticks

Lipsticks

Of course a lipstick sold at Anthropologie would be utterly breathtaking. Of course, I’m an addict and bought 3. But here was my reasoning – They have very similar packaging to the Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks, and are half the price. And, from personal experience, these are wonderfully moisturizing and incredibly long lasting. The plum color in the picture lasted me through 4 hours including a meal and had to be taken off with makeup remover. Dayum!

Vintage Compacts

Compacts Closed

My newest obsession. Why is this not a thing anymore? Why must we be forced to lug around flimsy, ugly, plastic packaged powders when THIS is a possibility?

12 thoughts on “Chronicles of a Packaging Whore

    1. Yeaaaa I got the rose gold one (Spirit?), but ended up returning it. The colors were lovely, and the shadows were easy to work with and pigmented, but I had so many dupes that I couldn’t justify keeping it. A rare moment of strength for me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

