Anastasia Beverly Hills Self Made Palette Review

Eh, I can’t think of an introduction for this palette. So why bother, right?

abh3

This is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Self Made palette – only available on the ABH website as far as I can tell. It has 14 shadows in it (.23 oz of product) for $35, and is limited edition, which isn’t new for ABH.

This is my first ABH palette, so I’m new to the texture. Some of the shadows are SO creamy that you almost feel like your finger is shoveling into the product rather than swiping across it. The color transfers to your lid incredibly quickly. Seriously. Be careful. Your subtle crease will turn into a clownish smokey eye in an instant. (This has actually caused me issues, and explains why I have no finished look to show you… Six month old twins don’t make for very many relaxed makeup sessions.)

Compared to past ABH palettes I’ve seen, the color selection is much more understated and elegant. No bright orange, no sun yellow. All of the shades are an interpretation of nude leaning peach or lavender or bronze. It also includes a beige, which I always appreciate in a palette so I don’t have to grab something else to set my primer.

And the packaging is GORGEOUS. File this under “Jenny is a Packing Whore.” A tweedish plastic outside with a fake metal emblem. It’s all very sturdy and wonderful and feels much more expensive than it is. (Speaking of – has anyone seen the Laura Mercier holiday palettes? This makes those look cheap!)

On to the swatcheroonies.

Top Row:

abh1

Pink Champagne: I think this is inaccurately named, as “champagne” to me means more of a delicate color, but what can ya do. This is so metallic it almost seems foiled.
Metallic Plum: This is a really multidimensional color, and my swatch doesn’t really do it justice. It dances between plum, purple, and brown in a really exciting way. (Someone’s in a poetic mood…)
Self Made: A lovely goldy bronze.
Witchy: A taupey grey – another shade that is very multidimensional and not quite what it appears in the pan.
Blush: Another shade I think is wrongly named – blush to me means pink. But this is a very pretty silvery lilac.
Blossom: All I can think is the word gorgeous. What a pink!
Buttery: The only underperforming shadow in the palette. Super powdery – so soft, my swatches felt like I was shoveling the powder, not swiping into it. But it is a useful shade. (I promise it’s there – it just happens to be pretty much my skin color.)

Bottom Row:

abh2

Deep Purple: It is what it says. It’s weird that in a palette of multidimensional loveliness there would be such a “Crayola” version of a color. But it is useful for building colors like Blossom and Blush into full on purple looks.
Treasure: Hello. (My literal reaction.)
Hot & Cold: One of the reasons I jumped on this palette. Pinky, bronzey, caramely, one swipe perfection.
Sherbert: The second reason I jumped on this palette. Ding dong, is that a lovely peach.
Isla: What’s weird about Isla, though it is a very pretty, mermaidy teal, is that it doesn’t quite fit in with anything else in the palette. All of the colors are a play on nude, or works as an enhancement to a play on nude (ie Deep Purple). This is the only shadow that completely veers to the left. But, for people much more brave than I, this is gorgeous.
Spirit Rock: I personally don’t understand colors like this. It’s a matte black with multicolored glitters. It’s really pretty to stare at, fun to swatch, but I don’t understand how to use it in practice unless you’re going to slather your eye in it. Someone educate me?
Hot Chocolate: Matte brown – another “useful” color, but this one performs much better than Buttery. A very opaque shadow that holds together perfectly.

8 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Self Made Palette Review

Leave a Reply

