Blogger Recognition Award!!!

I’m overwhelmed. That’s all I can say 🙂

I’ve been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by the beautiful, fabulous, witty, wonderful  Robin from Lipstick on the Lake! Definitely check her out – she’s one of my favs.

Blogger Recognition Award Rules:

1.) Write a post explaining why you started blogging along with a few tips.
2.) Nominate some of your fellow bloggers.
3.) Comment on their blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them

I started blogging because I wanted to join the conversation. I got super into makeup after the birth of my daughters as a way of self expression, rediscovery, redefining myself, meditation, and boredom induced online shopping. Naturally, that lead me to watching beauty gurus on Youtube. I found that commenting on their videos and getting the occasional thumbs up from them wasn’t enough, so I decided to start a blog where I could gush about my growing stash to someone besides my glazed-eyed husband.

The funny thing about advice is you can only give advice to achieve what the giver has. (English?) But, I do have a few things that come to mind.

Number one, and something that helped me TREMENDOUSLY, is before you publish anything, have 2 weeks of posts written. That means if you decide you want to post twice a week, have four posts already written, or three and six, or five and ten, whatever you decide. This way, there is a nice buffer for days when the shine has worn off your new toy and you just can’t possibly review another palette. Life happens, have backup posts.

Number two, which is kind of related, plan which days you are going to post and stick to that. It helps in two ways: when you have a really good writing week, it stops you from posting seven articles and then burning out, and it also helps you with attainable goals. This was a week like that – I had zero ideas, but knowing that I only had to come up with two made it a whole lot easier to calm the F down and figure it out.

Number three, and this is going to contradict that proving that I know absolutely nothing, if you have a scoop on something timely, POST IT IMMEDIATELY and title it something that Google will pick up easily. Nothing is more exciting than seeing your blog post on the first page of a Google search and watching your views double because of it. I rode the high from my Sephora Epic Rewards post for a week, it was wonderful!

My Nominees:

Makeup and Beauty Tips

Beauty Aperitif

Bapalaya

Leave a Reply

