Drunk Elephant Framboos

I won’t bore you with the entire history of the brand or the science behind what this serum does, because I am not a historian or a scientist. I will, however, share my favorite quote from the Drunk Elephant website:

“The name Drunk Elephant is rooted in a myth that says that elephants love to eat the fruit that has fallen from the Marula trees. Once eaten, fermentation occurs inside their very large tummies and the elephants become drunk!”

How fun is that?

First, some basics: My skin is extremely dry, I’m in my late twenties (my birthday is tomorrow, oy), I am not prone to breakouts except once a month, and I have some acne scarring from high school on my cheeks, which is my main concern.

During the Sephora VIB sale, I picked up Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum. My skin HATED it. I had tiny, sharp bumps all over the place, and found myself packing on way too much concealer than necessary, and it wasn’t a fun week. I’m not telling you not to try it, but it was most definitely too intense for my incredibly dry (though I didn’t know sensitive) skin.

Frustrated, I scoured Sephora for an alternative that would also fix this mess, all while cross checking Paula’s Choice. Drunk Elephant Framboos Glycolic Night Serum got her highest rating, so I ran to the mall to get it.

And lemme tell you, asking a salesperson “Where is Drunk Elephant?” then specifying “Framboos” is mighty embarrassing.

Framboos comes in a white and pink plastic, opaque bottle (which Paula says is best for sustaining the less stable ingredients). The pump is really ingenious – you have to twist the cap to make the pump pop up, and one push gives you exactly how much product you need. It feels very fancy and doctorly.

I used it every night for seven days in my normal skin care regime – so after washing, before moisturizer. I skipped exfoliating to make sure my skin didn’t get irritated. Nothing else in my skin care regime changed except this bottle.

Morning One:

Holy crap, am I in love. My skin is literally shining with how smooth it is. My pores around my cheek are tiny. My nose isn’t covered in black spots. The breakout I got from my previous serum is smoothed. I may have rubbed my daughter’s cheek and then mine to see if there was a difference. There wasn’t.

What is this sorcery?

Morning Two:

This is what I want foundation to make my skin look like. But it’s my skin. What. Is. This. Sorcery?

Morning Seven:

My cheeks and chin have zero redness. The red patches on my left cheek are GONE. The red patches on my right cheek are contained to just a few wayward bumps. My skin feels like my daughter’s ass. It is soft and smooth and cool to the touch and my dry patches have subsided immensely. I went shopping for concealer and the Mac MUA told me I didn’t need any anywhere. This. Stuff. Is. Magic.

So, while this wasn’t a very scientific review, I can tell you that this stuff works beautifully, and I will most likely not be trying any other serums ever ever ever because I’m so impossibly in love with this weirdly named bottle of magic gel. It delivers on every one of its promises without being harsh, irritating, or drying.

Darn it, now I have to buy every single one of their products.

5 thoughts on “Drunk Elephant Framboos

Leave a Reply

